Offside Rule for Beginners Ninh explains Football Soccer
Offside Rule for Beginners Ninh explains Football Soccer. The Offside Rule, The offside rule in association football (or soccer to some of you), is the rule in all sports that confuses the biggest number of fans.
But it’s not difficult to understand, or spot, if you know what you’re looking for. Firstly, you have to know what it actually is.
It’s a rule to prevent opposing players from just hanging around the other team’s goalkeeper all game so that when the ball comes near them, they just poke it into the net.
As you can imagine, this would make an incredibly unfair and boring game. So, the offside rule is there to prevent that. The offside rule’s official definition is this, but it’s better to explain the offside rule in this flow chart, which consists of two parts.
1. OffSide Position
Part One – Are they in an offside position? To determine an offside position, an imaginary line is drawn from the second to last opponent.
The last opponent is usually (but not always) the goalkeeper. Alternatively, level with the last two opponents. The offside area now is anywhere behind this imaginary line.
When the ball is played, the attacking team members must be behind or level with this imaginary line to be onside. So if any part of their head, feet, or torso are in front of this imaginary line when the ball is played, they are in an offside position.
Note that the decision is made at the time the ball is originally played, NOT when the teammate receives the ball. So this would be an onside position, as every member of the opposing team is behind this imaginary line.
This would be an offside position, as one player is past this line when the ball is played. Onside position. Offside position. Onside position. Offside position. Onside, offside, onside, offside.
Simple, right? But being in an offside position isn’t enough to call the infraction of offside, so why do you need part 2: Are they interfering by doing any of these?
2. Actively Interfering
While in an offside position, if you interfere with play, by touching or contesting the ball. This is offside. While in an offside position, if you interfere with your opponent, by fouling or blocking their view, this is offside.
While in an offside position, if you gain an advantage by just being there i.e., you’re the first one to tap in a rebound off the crossbar, this is offside.
If a player is NOT guilty of any of these, even while standing in an offside position – this is NOT offside. For example, this player is in an offside position, but because he doesn’t touch the ball, he isn’t interfering with any opponent, and he’s not gaining any advantage by just standing there.
This is NOT offside, and the goal stands. So to recap, are they in an offside position? Yes? Or no? If Yes, are they also one of these scenarios? If the answer is yes again, it’s offside. Otherwise, it’s not. A few other things … offside cannot be called from goal kicks, from any play within your half, on throw-ins or corner kicks.
However, offside called be called from free kicks. That’s it in a nutshell, but I know some of you have some hypothetical grey-area questions. What if the ball is played and there is no second to the last opponent?
What if I’m ahead of them already? If that’s the case – the line of the ball is used instead of the line of the second to the last opponent. So, the same rules apply.
Anywhere behind the line of the ball is inside. Anywhere in front of the ball is offside etc. What happens if a player is exactly on the halfway line? Is this offside?
The halfway line is classed as neutral, so any player was breaching the halfway line while the ball is played considered to be onside. So if I’m in an offside position, when does it reset?
When am I no longer classed as ‘offside’? Excellent question! A recent rule change by FIFA stipulates that if an opponent has made a deliberate attempt to touch the ball (and does), the original offside position no longer applies.
So, for example, here – this player is clearly in an offside position. But because the opponent has made deliberate contact with the ball, offside no longer applies because it hasn’t come from your teammate, but rather your opponent.
Therefore this subsequent goal is onside, and it counts. Remember, it’s only offside if you receive the ball ahead of the line from your teammate.
If the opponent gives it to you, that’s a different story. Wait, if this is the rule – can’t the opposing team try and run forward together to make the offside area bigger?
Yes, they can – and that’s exactly what they do. Defending teams will force opposing players in an offside position by running forwards together, usually in a straight line.
This is known as the offside trap and is a tactic used by defending teams to eliminate attacks and regain possession of the ball. When done correctly, it robs the other team of otherwise good goals.
When done badly … disaster! So to summarise – are they in an offside position? Yes? Or no? If Yes, are they also one of these scenarios? If the answer is yes again, it’s offside.
Otherwise, it’s not. If you have found this article at all helpful, please share, and if you want other things explaining to you, let me know in the comments section below, and I’ll consider doing so.
Thanks a lot.